Homestead exemption exempts you from paying property taxes on the first $75,000 in market value of your primary residence. In Grant Parish homestead exemption will save you approximately $1,200 per year in property taxes if your home exceeds the homestead exemption limit. To claim homestead exemption you must meet the qualifications outlined below. Contact our office to apply.
You must both own and occupy the property as your primary residence. You may not claim homestead exemption on more than one property at a time regardless of the property's location. A married couple is entitled one exemption between them equaling $75,000. If you own your property with others you are entitled to an exemption equal to your percentage of ownership in the property (i.e. if you own 50% of the property you are entitled to half of the maximum homestead exemption ($37,500) as long as you meet all other qualifications)
If you are a disabled veteran with a service connected disability of at least 50% or at least 50% unemployability who qualifies for homestead exemption you also qualify for additional homestead exemption. The amount of the additional exemption is determined by your disability rating as follows:
Rating Exemption Allowed
Rating 50% - 69% up to $100,000
Rating 70% - 99% up to $120,000
Rating 100% 100% Exempt
This also applies to the surviving spouse of a veteran.
To apply you will need to obtain Form A25 from the Louisiana Department of Veterans Affairs verifying your disability rating and you must complete the application for the additional exemption in our office.
If you are the surviving spouse of a law enforcement officer, national guardsman, or first responder as set forth in the Louisiana Constitution Article VII, Section 21 M whose death occurred in the line of duty you are exempt from property taxes on your homestead exempt property as long as the following applies.
1. The property must have been the homestead of the deceased prior to his/her death.
2. The surviving spouse has not remarried.
To apply you will need proof from his/her employer evidencing the death and you must complete the application in our office. This exemption status MUST recertified each year.